Panasonic Jaguar Racing returned to Mexico City and achieved their highest ever Formula E points haul to move to third in the team standings. The successful race concludes a historic week for Jaguar following the launch of the new all-electric Jaguar I-PACE.

Brazilian Nelson Piquet Jr showcased his consistency and race craft with another strong performance. The team made a strategic decision to keep him out on track for one more lap compared to the rest of the field, giving Nelson more usable energy for the second half of the race. Nelson battled it out for a podium finish with Sebastian Buemi but settled for fourth and more valuable points.

Mitch Evans started in 12th position, and after a strong start in his Jaguar I-TYPE 2 the Kiwi driver rapidly moved into the top ten. A quick pit-stop put him in front of his team-mate but Nelson was able to safely overtake with more energy available and Mitch then had a clean run to the end finishing in sixth.

The British team’s performance in Mexico City demonstrates a fast, consistent and reliable performance in their second season in the ABB FIA Formula E Championships. Panasonic Jaguar Racing move to third place in the team standings with 74 points. Both drivers have held their positions in the driver’s championship with Nelson in fifth and Mitch in seventh place.

James Barclay, Team Director Panasonic Jaguar Racing: “It’s a strong result for the team, the best ever points finish for Panasonic Jaguar Racing. Great progress was made by both drivers, demonstrating the speed of the Jaguar I-TYPE 2 and team this season. To come away from Mexico sitting in third position in the team’s championship, it is clear that we have made huge steps forward and a podium will come soon. We only have a short break before we get back on track in Uruguay and we will renew our focus pushing forward and securing more points.”

Nelson Piquet Jr, #3: “It was a solid race. Depending on the drivers around you, it’s important to make a decision about whether to risk overtaking or conserve energy. A better starting position would have given us a podium, so this will be the aim for Punta del Este in a few days time. I believe the Jaguar I-TYPE 2 is the most consistent car on the track and hopefully soon we will be the quickest as we move towards a top three finish.”

Mitch Evans, #20: “It was a good race for us. I started 12th and finished sixth so I’m definitely happy with that. It was a tough qualifying so I am excited to get another double points finish here in Mexico. The crowd in Mexico City was even bigger than last year and it was a great atmosphere to race in. I’m leaving now for the Geneva Motor Show and the debut of the Jaguar I-PACE before flying out to Punta. I’m really looking forward to my first visit and racing again so soon.”

On Saturday 17 March Panasonic Jaguar Racing will race in Punta del Este for the sixth E-Prix of the ABB FIA Formula E Championships. FanBoost opens for the sixth E-Prix of the season at 17:00 GMT on Monday 12 March and closes 19:10 GMT Saturday 17 March.

Organisers of the FIA Formula E Championship have today announced that the date of the 2015 Formula E Berlin ePrix (Round 8) is to move forward by one week. The race will now take place on May 23 2015. The decision has been taken to allow more time between races following the introduction of the new 10th host city – the Moscow ePrix (Round 9) – to the inaugural calendar, set for June 6 2015. As such, there will now be a two-week gap between the Berlin and Moscow races rather than the previous seven days.

The Berlin ePrix takes place on a custom-made circuit within the 'Apron’ section of the former Tempelhof Airport. Further details, including tickets prices and the specific circuit layout, are due to be announced towards the end of February. The next Formula E race is set for March 14 in Miami with the remaining six rounds taking place in Miami, Long Beach, Monaco, Berlin, Moscow and London.

2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship calendar:

Round 1 - Beijing ePrix, People’s Republic of China, September 13 2014
Round 2 - Putrajaya ePrix, Malaysia, November 22 2014
Round 3 - Punta del Este ePrix, Uruguay, December 13 2014
Round 4 - Bueno Aires ePrix, Argentina, January 10 2015
Round 5 - Miami ePrix, USA, March 14 2015
Round 6 - Long Beach ePrix, USA, April 4 2015
Round 7 - Monaco ePrix, Monaco, May 9 2015
Round 8 - Berlin ePrix, Germany, May 23 2015
Round 9 - Moscow ePrix, Russia, June 6 2015*
Round 10 - London ePrix, UK June 27 2015

*Circuit layout remains subject to FIA approval and track homologation